Hon Kachina Council Members



Ellen Aiken, Sacks Tierney, P.A.

Diana Beaugrand, Estrella Media Group

Kevin Craig, Keller Williams Realty Phoenix

Joe Deka, MD, Arrows Surgical Associates

Rita Dickinson, Retired

John Finnegan, The Landsource Group, Colliers International

Julie Friedly, Lovitt & Touché

Chris Gladney, Bankers Trust, President

Bryan Gottfredson, Sacks Tierney, P.A.

John David Herman, Network Services, Inc.

Colby Hunter, Freedom Financial Group, LLC – Vitalyst Health Foundation Liaison

Jeanmarie Jacoby, Washington Elementary School District

Claire Larkin, Larkin Marketing & Events

Jenny McCall, S4 Group Real Estate

Brian Moll, Quarles & Brady, LLP

Joshua Peterson, Wells Fargo Advisors

Leslie Rold, Chaparral High School – Immediate Past President

Alvaro Solorzano, Teksystems

Trisa Summers, Retired Financial Services

Kevin Walsh, Quarles & Brady, LLP


Past Active Members

  • Cash Beechler, MD
  • Sheri Statt Bercaw
  • Mary Collum
  • Melissa Costello
  • Charles Finch, DO
  • David Hadley, Jr
  • Erin Hart
  • John David Herman
  • Kate Maynard
  • Dean Rennell
  • Richard Rodney
  • Byron Sarhangian
  • Mike Schwab
  • Mark Seckinger
  • Mark Staudohar
  • Kathy Szur
  • Thomas Wisz
  • Joy Whitfield


Honorary Members

  • Brian C. Lockwood
  • William M. Murray
  • Ron “Saff” Saffer, CLU


Our Council Members Promote Volunteerism by Example

The Hon Kachina Council is made up of men and women from the business community who volunteer time and spend many hours soliciting nominations and working through the arduous process of selecting the most dedicated volunteers in the community. They collect data, conduct interviews and present their findings which result in reducing the almost 100 nominations to a select number of finalists. These finalists are presented to a Board of Governors, a group of prestigious community leaders, to make the final selection. In addition, Council members also take the lead in attracting sponsors and soliciting contributions as well as attending to the many details of the awards program. Learn more about the Hon Kachina Council.


  • Officers – 4
  • Board Committees:
    • Membership : 3-5 members
    • Social: 3-5 members
    • Fund Development: 3-5 members
    • PR/Social Media: 3-5 members


  • Awards Steering Committees:
    • Honoree Liaison : 2 members
    • Sponsorship/Marketing: 6 members
    • Selection (All Council Members)
    • Event Logistics: 2 members


The Hon Kachina Council Fact Sheet
Celebrating 40 years of Community Support 

Over 350 Hon Kachina Volunteer Award volunteers have been honored since 1977!
  • 1970
    The Hon Kachina Council, originally known as The Luke’s Men, was formed as a men’s membership organization to support St. Luke’s Hospital.
  • 1977
    The group initiated the Hon Kachina Volunteer Awards. The Hon – or healing–Kachina Awards program was originally conceived to honor people making significant volunteer contributions to the healthcare field. Since then its mission has expanded to both recognize the achievements of outstanding Arizona volunteers and to increase public awareness about the importance of volunteerism.
  • 1980
    The Luke’s Men began a tradition of broadcasting the awards presentation in cooperation with local television stations.
  • 1986
    St. Luke’s Health System was sold and St. Luke’s Health Initiatives was established with the proceeds of the sale. The Council now operates under this umbrella.
  • 2002
    The organization underwent a transformation, changing its name to the Hon Kachina Council to better reflect its mission and revising its by-laws to enable women to become members. Today the organization’s membership is made up of business and professional volunteers. Along with their involvement in the yearlong process of soliciting and screening nominations, attracting sponsors, generating philanthropic contributions and organizing the many details of this prestigious program, they also tackle volunteer projects of their own and build a network of friends.